Welcome to Morgan Township!


Morgan Township, one of thirteen in the county, is located in the southwestern corner of Butler County, Ohio, on the state line with Indiana. The township covers an area of 36 square miles. 

Morgan Township was divided from Ross Township by the Butler County Commissioners on March 4, 1811. Named for General Daniel Morgan, an officer in the American Revolutionary War, it is one of six Morgan Townships statewide. The township is bordered on the south by the Hamilton County townships of Crosby and Harrison; on the southwest by Dearborn County, Indiana; on the west by Whitewater Township, Franklin County, Indiana; on the north by Reily Township; on the northeast by Hanover Township; and on the east by Ross Township. Originally settled in 1801 by Welsh immigrants from Llanbrynmair, Montgomeryshire, Wales.  In later years, German settlers also came into the township.

Dog Days of Summer
We've officially reached the "Dog Days of Summer." The dog days or dog days of summer are the hot, sultry days of summer, typically from early July to mid August. They were historically the period following the heliacal rising of the dog star Sirius, which Greek and Roman astrology connected with heat, drought, sudden thunderstorms, lethargy, fever, mad dogs and bad luck. They are now taken to be the hottest, most uncomfortable part of summer in the Northern Hemisphere. 
Here's a few tips for staying cool and enjoying the Dog Days of Summer:

Hydrate - drink plenty of water. Other fluids can help to keep you hydrated, but water is still the best!
Plan your day - exercise, work or play outside early in morning or later in the evening when the temps are cooler. Avoid, if possible, outdoor activities during the heat of the day. 
Eat cool, be cool - consume foods that are cooling to your internal system. Go for sweet, ripe fruits, fresh veggies, frozen treats and lighter foods rather than salty and spicy.
Dress LightWear light colors and breathable fabrics, like cotton, linen or wicking type clothing that pulls moisture away from you.
Find some shadeWhen you make plans to play outside, make sure to wear sunscreen, bring plenty of water, invest in a wide brimmed hat, and find a pocket of shade to hang out in when the sun is beaming. 
Swim - Take a dip in a local swimming hole, public pool, or a kiddie pool in your backyard! There's nothing better on a hot summer day!
So enjoy the Dog Days of Summer! They'll be gone before you know it!

Salamander Run Preserve
Stop by the Morgan Township Administration Building on Saturday, August 19th at 10:00 am as Kelly Barkley, Senior Manager of Community Relations for Butler County Metro Parks, tells us about the newest public park located in our very own Morgan Township! Salamander Run comprises over 125 acres of restored wetlands, woodlands and prairie. She'll also be giving an update of other Butler County Metro Park projects. We hope to see you there!

Looking for local Summer Fun?
Here's just a few ideas........
Butler County Fair
Butler County Fair Grounds, Hamilton
July 23 - 29
Ohio Challenge Hot Air Balloon Festival
Smith Park Middletown
July 21 - 22
Movie in the Park "Secret Life of Pets"
Monroe Community Park, Monroe
July 22
Union Center Food Truck Rally
The Square @ Union Center, West Chester 
August 11
Shakespeare in the Park "Romeo and Juliet"
Village Green Park, Fairfield
August 11
Meteor Shower Party
Pyramid Hill Sculpture Park, Hamilton
August 12
For more information on these and other events happening in Butler County this summer, visit the Butler County Visitors Bureau at www.gettothebc.com.

Did You Know???
April thru October 2017

Please call 1-888-886-9268  to schedule pick up of your unwanted/used Freon appliance.  Unwanted Appliances will schedule pick up of your appliance beginning April 3.  This "on-demand" service will be offered through the end of October. Freon is removed by certified technicians and appliances are recycled.  
Accepted items: R
efrigerators, Freezers, Dehumidifiers and Air Conditioning units.
Limit of 2 like appliances per pick up. Appliance MUST be placed in driveway or at curb on morning of scheduled pick up. This program is available for Butler County residents only.

Household Battery Recycle
To find locations that will recycle your small household batteries go to the website: www.butlercountyrecycles.org

Household Hazardous Waste Drop-off

Every Thursday, 2:00 pm to 7:00 pm  

July 14th to the end of October  

175 Westheimer Dr. Monroe, Ohio